Sunday, March 18, 2012

Chakra Tattoo Symbolism

  Simple Chakra Symbol meanings  

For centuries, chakra symbol mandalas have been utilized to focus in on certain attibutes of the body, mind and spirit. 

When a certain chakra "or energy centre" is focused upon, the mind is able to trigger growth and healing by connecting to the energy resonating to that particular chakra.

We can focus upon these energy centers by utilizing the power of chakra symbol mandalas.

Below are all seven chakra symbols, with basic meanings and associations. The following guides can help you pick the chakra for you whether you are adding a Chakra to your tattoos for emotional, mental or physical reasons.

Root Chakra Symbol Mandala Meanings:

Grounding, material security, balance of physical body, clearing of fear.

 Color Ruby Red
 Symbol Lotus flower with four petals, representing a strong foundation
 Element Earth
 Verb To be
 Location Base of the spine in the area of the perineum
 Gland Adrenal glands
 Sense Smell
 Physical Body Areas Governed Legs and feet, knees, hips and the skeletal system, bones, lower digestive functions, excretory functions, teeth, anus, prostate, adrenals, kidneys, and sexual activity.
 Emotions Governed Physical survival, the primal instincts, feelings of fight or flight
 Gemstones Ruby, garnet, coral, and bloodstone
 Essential Oils Oil of clove, cypress, marjoram, cedar, and myrrh
 Lessons to Learn To feel safe and secure in this physical world and to satisfy our basic needs.

Sacral Chakra Mandala Meanings:

Sexual creativity, primal understanding, relief of tension, augment relationships 

 Color Orange
 Symbol A lotus flower with six petals
 Element Water
 Verb To feel
 Location  In the lower abdomen, between the waist and the pubic bone, about two inches below the navel
 Gland Gonads
 Sense Taste
 Physical Body Areas Governed  Reproductive and sexual organs, sacral vertebrae, stomach, liver, gallbladder, kidney, pancreas, adrenal glands, the upper intestines, spleen, and the auto immune system.
 Emotions Governed  Sensuality and sexual energy, self-acceptance, intimacy, pleasure, our emotional nature and personal relationships.
 Gemstones  Aventurine, citrine and carnelian
 Essential Oils  Sandalwood, ylang ylang
 Lessons to Learn  To bond with others in an emotionally healthy way and to express our creativity freely

Solar Plexus Chakra Mandala Meanings:

Personal power, sensitivity, clearing of anger, augment joy.

 Color Yellow
 Symbol A Lotus with 10 petals
 Element Fire
 Verb To Act or To Do
 Location Near the Navel
 Gland Pancreas
 Sense Sight
 Physical Body Areas Governed Pancreas, kidney, liver, stomach, small intestines, spleen, adrenals, gall bladder
 Emotions Governed Mental acuity, vitality, desire, sense of identity and sense of belonging, will, power, ego.
 Gemstones Topaz, calcite and citrine
 Essential Oils Bergamot, Lavender, Rosemary, Peppermint, Chamomile
 Lessons to Learn To fully experience who we are without fear or a need to control.

Heart Chakra Mandala Meanings:

Protection, love, harmony, connection, release of rejection, augment love. 

 Color Soft green or sometimes pink
 Symbol A lotus flower with twelve petals
 Element Air
 Verb To love
 Location In the center of the chest, near the heart
 Gland Thymus
 Sense Touch
 Physical Body Areas Governed Thymus, heart, lungs and diaphragm, circulatory system, rib cage, thoracic vertebrae, breasts, esophagus, shoulders, arms and hands
 Emotions Governed Love and compassion, healing, relationships, hope, trust, forgiveness, compassion
 Gemstones Jade, aventurine, rose quartz, rhodochrosite
 Essential Oils Jasmine, lavender, and marjoram
 Lessons to Learn To feel compassion and connectedness, both with ourselves and others

Throat Chakra Mandala Meanings:

Higher communication, proper judgment, ideal resolutions, release of temerity, augment self-expression. 

 Color Blue
 Symbol A lotus flower with sixteen petals
 Element Sound
 Verb To speak
 Location At the base of the throat
 Gland Thyroid gland
 Sense Hearing
 Physical Body Areas Governed Thyroid gland, throat, ears, parathyroid gland, trachea, neck and shoulders, esophagus, vocal cords, cervical vertebrae of the spine, mouth, teeth and gums
 Emotions Governed Self expression, creativity, communication, self knowledge, faith, trustfulness, honesty; connected to our career.
 Gemstones Lapis, turquoise, azurite, blue topaz
 Essential Oils Frankincense, eucalyptus
 Lessons to Learn To speak the truth and to be heard, to hear the truth from others

Third Eye Chakra Symbol Meanings:

Spiritual connectedness, insight, visualization into manifestation, clearing of grief, augment healing and imagination.

 Color Indigo
 Symbol A lotus flower with two large white petals
 Element Light (some references say Time)
 Verb To see
 Location In the middle of the forehead, between and above the eyes
 Gland Pineal and to some extent the pituitary
 Sense Sixth sense or higher mind
 Physical Body Areas Governed Pineal gland, pituitary gland, brain, nose, eyes, ears, neurological system
 Emotions Governed Intuition, insight, imagination, ESP
 Gemstones Amethyst, moonstone
 Essential Oils Jasmine and mint
 Lessons to Learn To use intuition and insight instead of judgement based on the physical senses

Crown Chakra Symbol Meanings:

Divine connectedness, pure being, perception beyond the confines of space and time, at one with everything. 

 Color Violet
 Symbol A lotus flower with 1000 petals
 Element Cosmic energy or thought
 Verb To know
 Location Top of the head
 Gland Pituitary and to some extent Pineal
 Sense None. Beyond sensory
 Physical Body Areas Governed Pituitary and pineal glands, brain, hormone system, nervous system, top of head
 Emotions Governed Peace, understanding and knowledge, enlightenment, conscious awareness, divinity
 Gemstones Clear quartz, white jade, diamonds
 Essential Oils Lotus
 Lessons to Learn Divine meaning of life

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.